Breaking up is hard to do, especially on Facebook …
So the tech giant has added a new feature to allow users to ease their heartache on the site.
Those who have recently parted ways can now ‘take a break’ from their ex on the site.
The social network giant will give users the option to see less of their former partner around the site without having to unfriend or block them.
Facebook product manager Kelly Winters said: “We are testing tools to help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended.
“When people change their relationship status to indicate they are no longer in a relationship, they will be prompted to try these tools.”
The new features will give users the options to:
- See less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Their posts won’t show up in News Feed and their name won’t be suggested when people write a new message or tag friends in photos.
- Limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see.
- Edit who can see their past posts with a former partner and untag themselves from posts with that person.
- The new features are being tested in America and if successful will be rolled in the UK.